How do you find out about good music?

Interesting question posted by Mark Glaser at MediaShift: how do you find out about good (new) music? My answer (also posted there) is below:

I still listen to radio, but now over the Internet. Thus, I can listen to other countries music and new artists. I use mainly iTunes for online radios, but there are a bunch of other services available.

I also subscribe to some podcasts and RSS feeds, like Rolling Stone and NYT, and read some friends' (and friends of friends') blogs to read about new artists. If I find it interesting, I download some songs from a p2p network and in case I like it, I buy the CDs (old school, I still love to keep the original CDs instead of buying mp3s).

Finally, I use a lot http://www.music-map.com to find new artists somewhat related to the ones I already know.

Got any suggestions? Post a comment there. And if you still didn't have a chance to read MediaShift, I highly recommend a closer look.

One Response to “How do you find out about good music?”

  1. ukchill Says:

    An interesting question, but one that has a parallel on the other side of the fence…

    As an artist, how do you get people to find your music? Particularly if you are not signed. To be honest, I expect anyone reading this to assume I am link whoring – and in some ways you would be right, but have you any idea how hard it is to get music out there for people to listen to?

    It’s a shame, but the self referencing blogosphere is as hard a nut to crack as the jaded A&R types in the industry.

    I’d appreciate any ideas.

    blatant whoring link: http://ukchill.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

