About me

I thought it would be a good idea to provide some background information so that you can filter what you’re reading.

My first Internet connection was back in 1993, on a Brazilian BBS and still using terminal on DOS. After that I played around with some graphical-interfaced BBS programs like FirstClass, but didn’t really got the grips for this net stuff. Finally on 1997 I bought my first Mac (a Performa 6300, old stuff) and was completely clueless on how to use that damn thing. It took me at least 10 minutes to figure out how to turn it on. None of my friends knew anything about Macs, I was completely lost and lonely…but then I found an installation CD for Internet connection, and besides the BBS clients I found one great little new thing: Netscape. And the Web. And e-mail. And IRC. And ICQ. And I found some great people who helped me on getting started to the Mac and the WWW world, even though I have never seen the faces of many of them. Four months later I learned HTML, and next JavaScript. One year later I learned RealBasic programming and even developed some popular software pieces with friends I had met on IRC. On 1999 I was invited to contribute to Macmania, the only Brazilian magazine about Macs, at the same time I joined my first job on an ISP. But this is getting too boring, so let’s shorten this: after working 4 year as a developer I decided to move to Internet Marketing (or whatever you may call it) and I’ve been here for 3 years now. Why? Well, call me stupid but I still prefer people over machines. 🙂

3 Responses to “About me”

  1. Mao Says:

    What a blatant LIE. You prefer BEER over people AND machines. Everyone knows that.

  2. rzouain Says:

    Point taken and accepted. I do prefer beer over people – hey, those are sold nearly anywhere and can be easily trashed away 🙂

  3. Juan Vicente Says:

    Hola Roberta!
    Ni me hubiera imaginado que tenías un blog.
    Espero que estés bien, y Valeria y Terzia también.
    Te comento que, en breve, vas a ver más movimiento en mi cuenta de Flickr y estoy tratando de armar un site con wordpress para mostrarlas. Hace poco comencé un curso de fotografía ;), asi que ese será el tema principal. También voy a postear algunas ilustraciones que comenzaré a hacer en mi tiempo libre.

    Cheers from Argentina, next time I’ll post in english.
    I don’t know if I should post in my blog in english or spanish. I guess I’ll get more traffic (and there is always a possibility to monetize the site) if I write in English, but on the other hand, I just wanted to show what I’m able to create. What do you think?

    Un abrazo grande

Leave a Reply

